CKV; Brown Vs. Board of Education | Topeka, KS

Standard

This week I created a video explaining the Brown Vs. Board of Education case and the impact it had. Being a future educator in a state I am not from I found it interesting to explore such an important court ruling in my field. To make this video I made a visit to the Historical site located in Topeka, KS and witnessed some pictures and objects that really drew a picture of this event.  This case impacted the entire United States, but it is a crucial part of Topeka, KS history where Oliver Brown joined other parents in a lawsuit against the segregation laws of the schools. I chose this topic because until I moved to Kansas I was oblivious about this case and had no idea what had happened and I took it upon myself to do some research and learn what happened.

 

I made this video with the app iMovie and it was a lot more simple than I expected. When beginning a movie it can be overwhelming and I did have a hard time getting started. I did try an app called Voice Record Pro which was free, but I found it easier to just record right onto iMovie. Once I started to get an idea of what I wanted to include in my video iMovie made it simple to just add pictures, record voice over and music to the pictures, and line it all up. I was required to stretch-out some pictures and record what I wanted to say several times to get it how I wanted it. I also used another free app Haiku Deck to put some of the slides with text into the video. Haiku Deck is also simple to use, but I think it could be improved by adding some more customizing tools. For what I needed it for though it worked just fine.

In a classroom, students could use iMovie and a combination of other apps and resources to create a movie in many different subjects. In reading they could use it for a book report or sequel. In science they could go over a unit and what they learned or they could make a video of them conducting an experiment. History could be used to cover an event, era, or a person. Math they could create a song or scenario that uses an equation or act out a word problem. A plus about iMovie is there isn’t a time limit and they can create a movie of any length. I would recommend it to teachers for the classroom and anyone else who has access to an iPad.

image iMovie: $4.99

image Voice Record Pro: Free

image Haiku Deck: Free

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *